How can India occupy POK - the information portal on South Asia


Interview partners for this analysis in the period from December 1, 2002 to January 9, 2003:

Mohammad Hamid Ansari, former Permanent Representative of India to the United Nations, Ambassador to Saudi Arabia, Iran, Afghanistan, United Emirates and High Commissioner in Australia, until 2002 Vice Chancellor, Aligarh Muslim University, member of the Observor Foundation.

Prof. Dr. Kanti Bajpai, Chairman, School for International Studies (SIS), Center for International Politics, Organization and Disarmament, Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi and author of numerous publications on Indian foreign and security policy.

Commodore C. Uday Bhaskar, Deputy Director of the Institute for Defense Studies and Analyzes (IDSA).

Praful Bidwai, Journalist, Hindustan Times, Frontline, co-founder of the Movement in India for Nuclear Disarmament (MIND).

Muchkhund Dubey, President, Indian Institute for Social Development, former State Secretary in the Ministry of External Affairs (MEA) and former co-chair of the German-Indian advisory group.

Salman Haider, former State Secretary in the Ministry of External Affairs (MEA).

Dr. Frédéric Grare, Director, Center de Sciences Humaines, New Delhi.

N. N. Jha, Governor, Andaman and Nicobar Islands.

Prem Shankar Jha, Book author and one of the leading Indian journalists, inter alia. Hindustan Times and Outlook.

Dr. Manoj Joshi, Chief of The Times of India News Bureau and the Political Editor, The Times of India, Visiting Professor, School of International Studies, Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi.

Bharat Karnad, Professor (Chair), National Security Studies, Center for Policy Research, New Delhi., Former member of the National Security Advisory Board and author of "Nuclear Weapons and Indian Security", MacMillan, New Delhi 2002.

Dr. C. Raja Mohan, Strategic Affairs Editor, The Hindu, leading foreign and security policy journalist and author.

G. Parthasaraty, Visiting Professor, Center for Policy Research, Member of the Energy Security Committee, Ministry of External Affairs, and former Indian High Commissioner in Burma and Pakistan.

Suresh Prabhu, Member of the House of Commons for the Shiv Sena, former Minister of the Environment and Minister of Energy until August 2001, Chairman of the Commission for the Connection of Rivers since December 2002 at cabinet level.

Lieutenant General (Retd) V. R. Raghavan, Director, Delhi Policy Group (DPG), New Delhi and author.

Prof. Dr. E.A. Ramaswamy, leading Indian industrial sociologist, formerly Administrative Staff College (ASCI), Hyderabad and Institute for Development Studies, The Hague, currently University of South Pacific, Fiji.

C. V. Ranganathan, Chairman of the National Security Advisory Board, former ambassador to China, France and Ethiopia and co-author of the book "India and China. The Way Ahead. After Mao's India War." Har-Anand, New Delhi, 2000.

Jasjit Singh, Air Commodore, Director, Center for Strategic and International Studies, Editorial Adviser (Defense and Strategic Affairs) to the Indian Express Group, former Director of the Institute for Defense Studies and Analyzes (IDSA).

Prof. Dr. Shanta Nedungadi Verma, Delhi University, expert on Indo-Russian relations.

Dr. habil. Aparna Rao, University of Cologne and Kashmir expert.

K. Santhanam, Director, Institute for Defense Studies and Analyzes (IDSA), New Delhi.

Arun Singh, Joint Secretary, Ministry of External Affairs, responsible for Pakistan and Afghanistan.

K. Subrahmanyam, Nestor of Indian Security Policy, Consultative Editor, The Times of India and The Economic Times, Former Director of the Institute for Defense Studies and Analyzes (IDSA) and Former Chairman of the National Security Advisory Board.

Dr. Achin Vanaik, Visiting Professor, Department of Political Science, University of Delhi, and founding member of the Indian anti-nuclear movement (Movement in India for Nuclear Disarmament / MIND).

N. N. Vohra, Director, India International Center, former chairman of the Commission for Homeland Security, author of the report named after him on the Nexus of Politics and Crime, for many years in the Ministry of Defense, there inter alia. State Secretary and former Principal Secretary under Prime Minister I. K. Gujral.