Who won the FIFA balloon in 2019?

Ballon d'Or and FIFA World Cup players - what is what? - An overview of the various awards

European Footballer of the Year (1956 to 2006): Ballon d'Or

In 1956, Gabriel Hanot and Jacques Ferran, organized by France Football, created a prize for Europe's best player: the Ballon d'Or. An award for which journalists from all over Europe could vote and which until 1994 only one European player could win. From 1995 onwards, non-Europeans who were under contract with a European club could also be elected.

Ballon d'Or: The counterpart to the world footballer (2007 to 2009)

From 2007 the "Golden Ball" honored the best footballer in the world - as a counterpart to the world footballer of FIFA, which was launched in 1991 by the world football association.

FIFA World Player (1991 to 2009)

The first FIFA winner: the German record international player Lothar Matthäus. The last winner of this "project": Argentina's superstar Lionel Messi. Initially, only the national coaches from all FIFA associations voted. In 2004 the captains of the national teams were added. It stayed that way until 2009.

FIFA Ballon d'Or (2010 to 2015)

From 2010 Ballon d'Or and FIFA world footballers cooperated. Journalists, national coaches and the captains of national teams from as many FIFA associations as possible determined the World Player of the Year through their election results: Messi took home the coveted trophy four times, Cristiano Ronaldo twice (2013, 2014).

Separate ways (since 2016)

But in 2016 they parted ways again. The contract had expired, the publishing group "Amaury", which publishes "France Football", and FIFA has since been doing its own thing again. As before 2009, "France Football" awards the Ballon d'Or, FIFA the world footballer, officially known as "The Best FIFA Men's Player" or simply "The Best". At the Ballon d'Or, which is considered to be more prestigious, journalists from all over the world vote, at FIFA a quarter of each journalists, fans on the FIFA website, the head coaches and the captains of all national teams.

UEFA Europe's Footballer of the Year (since 2011)

And Europe's footballer of the year? This has been organized since 2011 in the tradition and successor of the original Ballon d'Or by the ESM under the leadership of kicker together with UEFA. It is based on the last season that ended and is therefore carried out in summer.

Ballon d'Or winners since 1956:

2019 Lionel Messi (Argentina / FC Barcelona)
2018 Luka Modric (Croatia / Real Madrid)
2017 Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal / Real Madrid)
2016 Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal / Real Madrid)
2015* Lionel Messi (Argentina / FC Barcelona)
2014* Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal / Real Madrid)
2013* Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal / Real Madrid)
2012* Lionel Messi (Argentina / FC Barcelona)
2011* Lionel Messi (Argentina / FC Barcelona)
2010* Lionel Messi (Argentina / FC Barcelona)
2009 Lionel Messi (Argentina / FC Barcelona)
2008 Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal / Manchester United)
2007 Cocoa (Brazil / AC Milan)
2006 Fabio Cannavaro (Italy / Real Madrid)
2005 Ronaldinho (Brazil / FC Barcelona)
2004 Andriy Shevchenko (Ukraine / AC Milan)
2003 Pavel Nedved (Czech Republic / Juventus Turin)
2002 Ronaldo (Brazil / Inter Milan-Real Madrid)
2001 Michael Owen (England / Liverpool FC)
2000 Luis Figo (Portugal / Real Madrid)
1999 Rivaldo (Brazil / FC Barcelona)
1998 Zinedine Zidane (France / Juventus Turin)
1997 Ronaldo (Brazil / Inter Milan)
1996 Matthias Sammer (Germany / Borussia Dortmund)
1995 George Weah (Liberia / AC Milan)
1994 Hristo Stoihkov (Bulgaria / FC Barcelona)
1993 Roberto Baggio (Italy / Juventus Turin)
1992 Marco van Basten (Netherlands / AC Milan)
1991 Jean-Pierre Papin (France / Olympique Marseille)
1990 Lothar Matthäus (Germany / Inter Milan)
1989 Marco van Basten (Netherlands / AC Milan)
1988 Marco van Basten (Netherlands / AC Milan)
1987 Ruud Gullit (Netherlands / AC Milan)
1986 Igor Belanov (USSR / Dynamo Kiev)
1985 Michel Platini (France / Juventus Turin)
1984 Michel Platini (France / Juventus Turin)
1983 Michel Platini (France / Juventus Turin)
1982 Paolo Rossi (Italy / Juventus Turin)
1981 Karl-Heinz Rummenigge (Germany / Bavaria Munich)
1980 Karl-Heinz Rummenigge (Germany / Bavaria Munich)
1979 Kevin Keegan (England / Hamburger SV)
1978 Kevin Keegan (England / Hamburger SV)
1977 Allan Simonsen (Denmark / Borussia Mönchengladbach)
1976 Franz Beckenbauer (Germany / Bavaria Munich)
1975 Oleg Blochin (USSR / Dynamo Kiev)
1974 Johan Cruyff (Netherlands / FC Barcelona)
1973 Johan Cruyff (Netherlands / FC Barcelona)
1972 Franz Beckenbauer (Germany / Bavaria Munich)
1971 Johan Cruyff (Netherlands / Ajax Amsterdam)
1970 Gerd Müller (Germany / Bavaria Munich)
1969 Gianni Rivera (Italy / AC Milan)
1968 George Best (Northern Ireland / Manchester United)
1967 Florian Albert (Hungary / Ferencvaros Budapest)
1966 Bobby Charlton (England / Manchester United)
1965 Eusebio (Portugal / Benfica Lisbon)
1964 Denis Law (Scotland / Manchester United)
1963 Lev Yashin (USSR / Dynamo Moscow)
1962 Josef Masopust (CSSR / Dukla Prague)
1961 Omar Sivori (Italy / Juventus Turin)
1960 Luis Suarez (Spain / FC Barcelona)
1959 Alfredo Di Stefano (Spain / Real Madrid)
1958 Raymond Kopa (France / Real Madrid)
1957 Alfredo Di Stefano (Spain / Real Madrid)
1956 Sir Stanley Matthews (England / Blackpool FC)

* Winner of the FIFA Ballon d'Or (2010 to 2015)

* Winner of the FIFA Ballon d'Or (2010 to 2015)